Happy Thanksgiving 2014


turkey is good

Happy Thanksgiving!

I want to say Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends, family, readers and visitors.  I really enjoy having this blog and sharing what I have done and what I am planning to do.  I appreciate all the encouragement, feedback, and dialog that this forum has generated.

I hate apologizing for not blogging more regularly.  However, I feel like I should since I have had so many kind words about my articles on the BeagleBone Black (BBB) and my increasing interest in woodworking.  So, to all of you, thank you.

Over the past year, I have been as busy as ever and it is only just starting to calm down but as soon as I say that, I am sure that it will wind right back up again.  In October 2013, I was asked to assume the team lead and system engineering responsibilities for one of my company’s web sites.  We use Adobe CQ/AEM for our CMS solution, running on Red Hat Enterprise Linux.  When I was first asked to start building components for the CMS a few years ago, my experience centered around Microsoft technologies and this made for a “K-2”-like learning curve.  One of my decisions was to fully immerse myself and this is why I “burned the ship” by installing Linux on my workstation.  This forced me to figure out how to work out the mechanics in this new environment and it has been a fun, frustrating, exciting and very rewarding experience.

Without that, I would never have dove as deep with the BBB and plan to continue projects with it.

This year, my wife and I stubbled, quite literally, into a what may become a business endeavor.  While chatting with some neighbors on our community’s Facebook group, someone asked if anyone had or could make a Corn Hole set.  My wife said that I could build a set and then informed me.  By the way, I had never built a set before.  That was March and since then, I have built over 50 sets for friends, family, and neighbors.  It has been great for me because I had just finished building a work bench and was slowly working on some other projects but I really didn’t have any direction.  Building Corn Hole sets has really forced me to focus on the basics and the details of woodworking.  They are easy to build but take technique to build flat and straight, especially when building from box store lumber.  I have acquired good tools, experience, and confidence to begin building more complex projects.  I hope to share many of them with you.

I am what some would call a “changing imager.”  This is a type of person that can plan and start many projects but may take a while to finish.  I also have many different types of interests including audio engineering, guitar building, electronics, programming, general computers, and building and making things.  I try not to blog multi-part articles anymore because I may not finish them for a while or at all and I drives me crazy to get half-way through someone’s walk-through on something to find out that it was never finished.  Since I discovered Breaking Bad only on it’s final season, I waited until it was over before starting it on Netflix.  So, I just don’t want to do that to you.

If you have ideas for projects, please let me know.  I will try to share with you what I am doing on a more regular basis so you don’t feel like I have abandoned this blog.  To start off, I started listening to podcasts on the way to and from work.  Mostly woodworking but some guitar and generalized subjects.  Right now, my favorite is Fine Woodworking’s Shop Talk Live (iTunes & i-heart-radio).  It runs about an hour (the length of my commute) and the guys are funny, knowledgable, and down-to-earth.  It’s NOT a Festool commercial, so if you’re a woodworker, check it out.

I will probably put up some more articles on what I am up to so check back.  If you don’t hear from me, drop me a line.  I get distracted trying to keep my boys from burning down the house and keeping up with my Corn Hole orders but I will try to respond it a timely fashion.

Thanks for listening.  I look forward to getting back here.

PS.  Here is a couple if pictures of what I’ve been up to.  Building Corn Hole boards and finally getting my Dust Deputy cyclone working.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

