Linux Noob: Java in the Browser (Chrome or Firefox) on Fedora 14 64 bit


Ack!  This was not an intuitive endeavor to get Java applets running in Linux but I finally got it done.  Here’s what I did.

Though I used the defaults, my installation for Java seems to be a bit different than one’s I have seen on the web while I was researching this issue.  Here is my path:

/usr/java/jdk1.6.0_24/jre/lib/amd64/

I found an article that closely described the fix (click here).  You need to create a symbolic link that looks something like this:

ln -s /usr/java/jdk1.6.0_24/jre/lib/amd64/libnpjp2.so

,,,AND… this needs to be in the correct folder.  So for my instance (64bit), this symbolic link needed to be created in the following folder:

/usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins

So, to put it all together, it should go something like this:

[root@Dave ~]# cd /usr/lib64/mozilla/plugins
[root@Dave plugins]# ln -s /usr/java/jdk1.6.0_24/jre/lib/amd64/libnpjp2.so
[root@Dave plugins]# ls
libflashplayer.so                      libtotem-gmp-plugin.so
libnpjp2.so                            libtotem-mully-plugin.so
librhythmbox-itms-detection-plugin.so  libtotem-narrowspace-plugin.so
libtotem-cone-plugin.so
[root@Dave plugins]#

I then refreshed my browser and the applets started flowing.

See how easy that was?

😛

Leave a Reply

