Linux Noob: A Day in the Life of a Linux Noobie


So, I torched my Windows 7 install a couple weeks ago to embrace Linux (Fedora Core 14).  It’s been two weeks and nothing major liking having to reload the OS (not for lack of trying).  So, it’s been going well enough that I though I would blog about it.

I have done some pretty scary stuff over the last two weeks that has made my hair start to turn white but everything seems to be working out ok.  One thing that I have noticed is that there is a preponderance of information out on the Internet but it typically follows the 80/20 rule.  80% crap (doesn’t apply, doesn’t work, or written by elitist douche bags) and 20% gold.  I will do my very best to provide you with 100% of the 20% (I just made my brain hurt).

In the meantime, if there is something that YOU would like to know about, I probably would too.  I’ll ask around.  I’ll do some legwork and put it up here.  If you know of a better way to do something that I post, let me know.  And if anything that I put up becomes part of the 80%, let me know.

Time to get to work.

2 thoughts on “Linux Noob: A Day in the Life of a Linux Noobie

  1. Thanks for the comment. I’ll check Kororaa out. As indicated by mentioning “core”, I haven’t touched Fedora in a while. I believe the last time was FC4. It’s nice that Fedora has been refined as much as it has but that all the old, comfy places that I know and love are still there.

  2. For the best support on Fedora go to their forum.
    BTW it’s not “core” any more, not since version 6.

    If you like Fedora you will like Kororaa as it is a Fedora remix that includes all the extras most people add like codecs and popular apps.

Leave a Reply

